For over 2 million visitors a year, Illinois Legal Aid Online is here when it matters. We help you understand your legal options and find the best resources to solve your legal problems. If everyone reading this gave just $5, our fundraising would be done in less than 48 hours. If this website is useful to you, please make a small donation to help keep us around for years to come. Thank you, Team ILAO
|Filing a Complaint With DCFS||
Last updated: January 2013
Child abuse is the mistreatment of a child under the age of 18 by a parent, caretaker, someone living in their home or someone who works with or around children. The mistreatment must cause injury or must put the child at risk of physical injury. Child abuse can be physical, sexual, or emotional.
For more information, see Frequently Asked Questions on Child Abuse and Neglect.
Here are some examples of situations when you should call the child abuse hotline:
You should contact the Illinois Department of Children and Family Services ("DCFS"). You can reach the child abuse hotline at (800) 25-ABUSE, or 217-524-2606.
You should also consider calling the police in an emergency or when the child has been injured.
No. Members of the general public may make reports without giving their names. In addition, their names are not given to the person they name as the abuser or to anyone else unless ordered by a hearing officer or judge.
Hotline calls are confidential. The person who is the target of the investigation cannot find out who made the call except in very unusual situations. DCFS investigators are not allowed to reveal the identity of callers.
Hotline staff are social workers with special training in determining what constitutes child abuse and neglect under Illinois law. Details are important. Ideally, you should be able to tell the Hotline worker:
A hotline worker will ask you questions to decide if your call should be investigated. If the information you report meets the minimum requirements for investigation, the call is referred to a child protection investigator. DCFS requires investigators to see the child within 24 hours of the call.
The purpose of the DCFS investigation is to find out if the child was abused and to decide whether the child (or children) is at risk in a home. The investigator will talk to a number of people including:
DCFS has no power to arrest or detain adults, but its investigators do have the power to take children into protective custody.
At the end of the investigation, DCFS will decide if there was enough evidence to support a finding of abuse or neglect.
If you report the alleged child abuse or neglect in good faith then you cannot be held liable for damages under criminal or civil law.
Any person who knowingly makes a false report to DCFS commits the offense of disorderly conduct, a Class B misdemeanor. Punishment can includes up to 6 months of jail and a fine of up to $500.
For a list of organizations in your area that may be able to help you, enter your zip code.
User Survey - Please take a moment to fill out our User Survey to help us to provide better service.