How do I know what wages I am owed?
Illinois law says that all workers must be paid their agreed wages. It does not matter how you are paid, whether it is by the hour, salary, by piece, or another method. If you work, then you should be paid. However, your agreed upon rate should never fall below minimum wage for every hour worked. Find out more about minimum wage and overtime with the Illinois Department of Labor website
If you work more than 40 hours in one work week, then your employer must pay you one and a half times (1.5x) your regular hourly wage. The workweek does not have to be the calendar week but may begin on any day. Your employer may not average your hours over two or more weeks to determine if you worked more than 40 hours in one work week.